Michael Self Settles for Top-15 Finish after Earning Pole Position at Gateway

Finish: 13th
06/24/19

Concord, North Carolina (June 24, 2019) – It was a night of mixed results for Michael Self (No. 25 Sinclair Oil Toyota) at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway. 

Self, the current points leader in the ARCA Menards Series started Saturday night’s race from the pole and led a race high 41 laps before a broken rear axle ended the 28-year-old’s day early relegating him to a disappointing 13th place finish.

Kicking off the second half of the ARCA season with an eerily similar result as his season opener at Daytona International Speedway, Self remains calm and optimistic about the road ahead.

“It’s definitely frustrating to have had another mechanical issue here,” said Self post-race. “I felt like we had great momentum going after winning at Michigan, finishing second at Madison, and qualifying on pole and leading a bunch of laps here early on, but obviously we have some sort of issue with these axle’s right now and we have to figure out what that is. I felt like we had a really strong car, capable of winning and easily capable of running in the top-three as we have been all year, so this one hurts a little extra. I’m confident in my guys and trust we’ll figure out what the issue is and all we can do is move on.”

Despite finishing outside the top-10, Self maintains a 30-point advantage over Bret Holmes who occupies the second spot in the championship standings. Self has now led 390 laps throughout 11 races and has won four General Tire Pole Awards on the season.

Self and his Sinclair Oil team will have a short week to regroup as they roll into the windy city to defend their 2018 Chicago win in Thursday night’s Bounty 150 at Chicagoland Speedway.

The ARCA Menards Series returns to action on Thursday, June 28 in the Bounty 150 at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Illinois. Practice is scheduled to start at 1 pm ET/12 noon CT, General Tire Pole Qualifying is set for 5:35 pm ET/4:35 pm CT, and the 100-lap/150-mile feature event is set for 8 pm ET/7 pm CT. The race will be televised live on FS1.